Home School Years

Proverbs 22:6 – Train up a child in the way he should go, even when he is old, he will not depart from it.

The Five Senses

Related Posts:

Science Detective - learning about taste buds

Science Detective – learning about taste buds

101 Science Poems & Songs

Food & The Kitchen

Fun Craft and Activity Ideas

Recommended Books:

  • Sensational Sense of series books by Julia Vogel
  • Me And My Senses by Joan Sweeney
  • Anna & Natalie by Barbara Cole
  • Lucy’s Picture by Nicola Moon
  • Helen Keller’s Best Friend Belle by Holly M. Barry
  • Cold, Crunchy, Colorful: Using Our Senses by Jane Brocket
  • You Can’t Smell A Flower With Your Ear!: All About Your 5 Senses by Joanna Cole
  • A Picture Book of Louis Braille by David Adler
  • Sign Language: My First 100 Words by Michiyo Nelson
  • Our Bodies & Art Activities by Rosie McCormick
  • Fun With My 5 Senses: Activities To Build Learning Readiness by Sarah A. Williamson

Lesson Ideas:

  • Conduct a week-long lesson plan (one sense per day)
  • Conduct experiments for each of the senses
  • Discuss what happens when we lose a sense (by birth or accident)
  • Define disability and handicap
  • Discuss Braille system and other inventions that impacted the world
  • Discuss sign language
  • Discuss service dogs
  • Discuss well-known people who achieved great things despite a handicap (Helen Keller, Louis Braille, Marlee Matlin, Andrea Bocelli, etc.)

Sense of Sight

We took part in a color and shape themed scavenger hunt around the house and our neighborhood. I was amazed at how much he was able to find! When we got home, we filled out this Sense of Sight Activity Sheet I created. Another idea is to go on a walk and have the child draw things they see.

Sense of Hearing

We rode in the car to and from picking up his older brother at school and I asked him to close his eyes and I lowered the window and he had to describe the different sounds he heard. When we got home, we filled out this Sense of Hearing Activity Sheet I created.

Sense of Taste

I did a taste experiment using a number of items. I placed a sample of different foods in small bowls on the table and with his eyes closed, I had him taste the items and guess what it was. I also asked him what he liked best and worst of the selection. When we were done, we filled out this Sense of Taste Activity Sheet I created.

Sense of Smell

Similar to the sense of taste, I did a scent sampling by having him identify different scents with his eyes closed: fruits, cereals, toothpaste, perfume, etc. When we were done, we filled out this Sense of Smell Activity Sheet I created.

Sense of Touch

During a touch tour, my son was given a variety of textures to have him feel the differences: rough, soft, bumpy, slimy, sticky, etc. We looked at each and explained the differences in make up so he could understand the reason for their texture. I also had him close his eyes and I touched his arm with different things and he had to identify them: feather, cotton ball, brush head, plastic bag, etc. When we were done, we filled out this Sense of Touch Activity Sheet I created.

The Sixth Sense

To expand the lesson, you can discuss the sixth sense – that intuition or gut sense we all have. You can help the child be aware of and connect with it in order to develop a whole or complete mind, body and spirit mindset.

Related Worksheet:

Are You Aware? Using Your Senses worksheet

2 comments on “The Five Senses

  1. forhisgloryandpraise
    April 12, 2012

    I posted this one to my facebook page with link for early homeschooling families I know. You should see about offering these on Currclick.com for sale to homeschooling families. I checked out the worksheets, and you did a great job. You could even do a pdf about how to use them and teaching ideas for the 5 senses.

    • Sofia
      April 12, 2012

      Thank you for that tip. I’ll be sure to check into it.

Leave a Reply

